30 Jahre urgewald 🎉   mehr lesen >> weiterlesen
AIIB Watch
Case Studies to AIIB financed Projects

How environmentally friendly and socially just is the AIIB?

AIIB Watch documents environmental and social conflicts arising from infrastructure projects financed by the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB).

Our interactive map lists 18 cases where there is evidence that the AIIB is failing to meet its own safeguard standards. For more information on safeguards, have a look at the glossary below.

The cases take the environmental and social standards approved in 2016 and revised in February 2019 as a basis (see link under further information). These were to be reassessed and adjusted after three years based on practical experience with them. However, the review of the implementation and effectiveness of the standards was not done by the Bank itself, but primarily by civil society. Consultations with civil society took place from fall 2019 to May 2021.The AIIB Watch and the cases documented here informed the revision of the standards. In May 2021, the revised standards were approved and will enter into force in October 2021 (see link under further information).

For the project overview, we used information from the AIIB homepage. Please click on "More information" in the map to be taken to a summary for each case that provides details and further links to the safeguards involved. These summaries are compiled by a group of civil society organizations from Asia, Europe and North America. They are designed to help give voice to local communities, document realities on the ground, and testify that standards on paper can never be enough - they must be implemented.

Projects are constantly reviewed and results are documented on an ongoing basis. The research of the partner organizations often takes place under high risks. The security situation is so volatile that we cannot present all the details of individual cases without endangering the communities.

Legend & Abbreviations
Legend AIIB Watch map
Source: AIIB (2019): Environmental and Social Framework.
Online under: https://www.aiib.org/en/policies-strategies/_download/environment-framework/Final-ESF-Mar-14-2019-Final-P.pdf

In May 2021, the AIIB amended the environmental and social standards. Urgewald together with an alliance of Asian and European NGOs, had beeen involved in the discussion with the AIIB management on possible best practices. Here you can see our comment after the May amendment.

The amended ESF applies for all projects approved after October 2021

AIIB: Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank

AM: Accountability Mechanism

ESF: Environmental Social Framework

ESIA: Environmental and Social Impact Assessment

GRM: Grievance Redress Mechanism

PPM: Project-affected Peoples Mechanism

Glossary

This glossary explains terms used in connection with operations of the AIIB and other International Financial Institutions (IFIs). The explanation is made through the lens of civil society. We try to show the differences and communalities when CSOs and AIIB use these terms. Quite frequently the interpretation differs and usually the CSO viewpoint uses a more rights-based approach than the Bank. But we try to be as objective as possible.

Safeguards – Environmental and Social Framework (ESF)

’Safeguards’ are the rules, which IFIs haven given themselves to guide their due diligence when assessing and preparing new projects and their implementation of operations. The World Bank was the first IFI to develop safeguards in the late 1980s. Massive protests against mega-projects in Indonesia, Brazil and India and political pressure from shareholder countries, mainly the USA, compelled the World Bank to develop a set of environmental and social policies. All other IFIs followed suit over time. Recently there was a move by almost all IFIs to weaken their safeguard systems under the pretext of flexibility and leaner decision processes. The new term ‘Environmental and Social Framework’ was introduced, which also indicates that binding rules are substituted by ‘standards’ open to a wide range of interpretation. Also, the task to evaluate alternatives and report on project progress lies entirely in the hand of the project proponent (sponsor). The question is, which state or company would tell a possible financier that there is a viable alternative or the no-project option would be better.

Involuntary Resettlement

”Next to killing a man the worst thing you can do is to displace him.” This quote by Thayer Scudder, social anthropologist and one of the very few leading experts on resettlement, says it all about the importance of the issue. Besides transparency, disclosure, and meaningful consultation this issue causing a lot of harm. Resettlement is always connected to infrastructure projects. And it depends on the diligence of project sponsors and designers, whether affected people at least are treated with respect and get proper compensation for the loss of land and livelihood. The impact of land acquisition and involuntary resettlement covers a range from full displacement through partial loss of land and income to economic displacement caused by up- or downstream effects of projects.

Land Acquisition

Any infrastructure project needs land. One way of acquisition is to declare ‘eminent domain’ and seize the land needed with or sometimes without compensation. This also means involuntary resettlement for the affected people. Another way is negotiated transfer of land, which is preferred by ESFs. But these negotiations need prior information and fair compensation. Often IFIs claim that project sponsors (public or private) have reached an agreement with landowners and users before the IFI comes in for funding. Unfortunately, IFIs mostly take these assertions at face value. Experience shows that these prior ‘negotiated voluntary’ acquisitions often go along with massive pressure and intimidation. In some countries even ‘land donations’ are mentioned, which raise a lot of questions as this happens mostly under oppressive regimes.

Indigenous Peoples

There are two documents of international law, which define a lot of aspects regarding Indigenous Peoples. These are the convention 169 of the International Labor Organization (ILO 169) and the UN Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Basic principles are self-determination as Indigenous and the right to free, prior informed consent (FPIC). At IFIs these international laws, ratified by many shareholder countries, are not reflected in the safeguards. Management as well as shareholders often try to redefine FPIC as ‘consultation’ instead od ‘consent’, as it is the case with the AIIB. And sometimes the whole concept of Indigenous Peoples is disputed and neglected.

Information disclosure

Being informed about projects or programs which affect you, your livelihood, your environment is a basic human right. Without comprehensive, but also commonly understandable and culturally fitting information potentially affected communities are not able to interact with the IFIs and the sponsors of projects. Translation of relevant documents and making them understandable for common people is very important. One prerequisite of this is a rule with clearly defined time limits, when and how information must be disclosed. The current best practice is a full disclosure as described in the ‘Pelosi Amendment’ in US budget law. Hereby, information must be disclosed 120 days before board approval at an IFI.

Public consultation, stakeholder engagement

One basic and widely accepted principle in preparing a project is the consultation of affected people. The World Bank safeguards have set a precedent. They require consultations early on, with the best possible information for the affected communities. The process has to be culturally appropriate respecting the traditional decision-making processes, but also including gender considerations. A ‘stakeholder engagement plan’ is the document which outlines how a project sponsor or the IFI itself is organizing the consultations. This plan also is meant to outline interactions in the implementation phase.

Financial Intermediaries

Usually, IFIs finance large projects and programs, which amount in millions. To reach small and medium enterprises (SME) IFIs and especially their private sector departments or subsidiaries are more and more channeling finances through financial intermediaries (FIs). These FIs can be commercial banks, private equity funds or investment funds. Over time more and more parts of IFI portfolios have been allocated to financing FIs. But this goes along with problems in transparency and accountability. While affected people have a fair chance of getting to know an IFI involvement in a project, when it is financed directly, this mostly is up to impossible with FIs. The requirements to disclose sub-projects (i.e., projects financed by/through an FI) is next to non-existing. This deprives project-affected people and communities of their right to complain at the IFI’s accountability mechanism.

Accountability mechanism

IFIs as international legal bodies have immunity from legal prosecution for their actions. In contrast to most countries, where people have some opportunity to pursue some form of legal recourse through courts, this is impossible with IFIs. When this became more and more evident in connection with establishing safeguards, the World Bank was the first IFI to install an independent accountability mechanism (AM). Guiding principles for an AM are independence from management, impartiality and, if needed, anonymity for complainants. Also, members of AMs usually are barred from having jobs or consultancies with the IFI, on which’s panel they were. The processes differ from IFI to IFI. At the AIIB, civil society doesn’t see the AM as really independent as it is part of management activities. Also, the process to file a complaint has so many impediments, that it is almost impossible to do so. After a complaint the AM will, depending on the guiding rules, either try a mediation or will investigate the case and submit a report. This report ideally will result in remedial action by the IFI and/or the project sponsor.

Grievance Redress

In order to handle problems in a project early on IFIs require project sponsors to establish a grievance redress mechanism (GRM) within the project. This office or person is part of the project management and in no way independent or impartial. It depends on the responsiveness of the project sponsor whether the GRM really addresses problems or is just trying to impede complaints to the accountability mechanism. The quality of GRMs ranges from specially assign contact persons to a simple letter box outside an office.

Due diligence

Before a project is approved the IFI is not only negotiation financial terms. It is also checking the environmental and social impacts of the planned operation. The result of this is written down in the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA). This entire process is called ‘due diligence’. It also entails disclosure, consultations etc.. People and communities affected by a project, who feel that their rights and views have not been properly addressed in the due diligence process, can approach the IFI’s accountability mechanism. The AM then investigates whether the due diligence was properly administered and reports on its findings.

Gender considerations

Women although being half on mankind are among the most vulnerable groups impacted by infrastructure and other development projects. These effects range for example from loss of income as a small trader to sexual violence or the rise in HIV/AIDS. Therefore, impacts on women are a special aspect of the due diligence process. And in general development projects should not only avoid harm, but also have components to provide economic and social advance of female livelihood.

Community health and safety

This aspect of an IFI ESF covers many different issues. It addresses additional health issues like the rise of HIV/AIDS due to the influx of migrant workers in infrastructure projects, but also problems with dust or road kills along a road. From civil society view it is important to not limit the scope of the due diligence to the projects area, but also look at the up- and downstream impacts in a wider area.

Labor

The labor chapter in an ESF should give clear guidance on all the aspects regarding the workforce at a project. It should be applicable not only to the core staff of the project sponsor, but also to the staff of sub- and sub-sub-contractors. Also, there should be no exclusion of temporary workers from the application of the labor safeguard. And all labor regulations at projects should by compliant to the core labor standards of the International Labor Organization (ILO), a UN body. Unfortunately, the AIIB labor standard is far behind this as for example the right of collective bargaining (and forming independent trade unions) is not recognized.

Biodiversity

Since the 1992 summit in Rio biodiversity has become one of the main aspects of due diligence in IFI projects. As development projects by IFIs and first and foremost infrastructure projects have grave ecological impacts this has become one of the ‘battlegrounds’ between civil society, IFIs and project sponsors. In the recent years IFIs have weakened their standards (see Safeguards). At the World Bank the clear provision that primary forests and critical habitats with endangered species are off limits has been replaced by a regulation which allows projects in these areas when there is not an economically feasible alternative and the sponsor can provide on ‘offset’. But offsetting is highly disputed among practitioners and scientists. Who for example would dare to say that mountain gorillas in East Africa can be simply relocated to a completely different area to make way for oil drilling or mining?

 

Background

"Lean, clean and green" is the name given by the AIIB to its Environmental and Social Framework (ESF). By involving former employees of the World Bank in the development of the ESF, the AIIB wanted to prove that its rules stand up to comparison with international standards.

The bank lends for (large) infrastructure projects, mainly in Asia. So far, it has invested $10 billion in 18 countries. The bank's focus is on global development, with a mission to "improve social and economic outcomes in Asia." In the words of AIIB President Jin Liqun at the 2020 Annual Meeting:

"We strive to build a world that is financially, socially, environmentally and economically sustainable."

Together with an international alliance of regional and international NGOs, urgewald monitors the China-dominated bank and investigates declared standards and their sustainability. There are now 18 case studies, covering projects in transportation, energy (water/gas/transport pipelines), urban infrastructure and financial intermediaries. In addition, policies and sector strategies are being monitored.

We would like to thank all contributors for this summary and are immensely grateful to all communities for their commitment.

CSO Logos

 

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China desk/Campaigns on Multilateral Development Banks
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

    Bild Anprechpartner   Knud Vöcking

    Knud Vöcking
    Campaigns on Multilateral Development Banks
    knud [at] urgewald.org
    +49 (0)2583/30492-14

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dustin SchÀfer

    Dustin SchÀfer
    Campaigns on Multilateral Development Financial Institutions, Focus: Accountability and Transparency
    dustin [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

Weitere Themen

AIIB Watch
AIIB Watch: Fallstudien zu AIIB-finanzierten Projekten

Wie umweltfreundlich und sozial gerecht ist die AIIB?

AIIB Watch dokumentiert Umwelt- und Sozialkonflikte, die durch Infrastrukturprojekte entstehen, die von der Asiatischen Infrastruktur-Investitionsbank (AIIB) finanziert werden.

In unserer interaktiven Karte sind 18 Fälle aufgelistet, bei denen es Hinweise darauf gibt, dass die AIIB ihre eigenen Schutzstandards nicht einhält. Weitere Informationen zu den Schutzmaßnahmen (Safeguards) finden Sie weiter unten im Glossar. Die Fälle nehmen die 2016 genehmigten und im Februar 2019 überarbeiteten Umwelt- und Sozialstandards zur Grundlage (siehe Link unter weiterführende Information). Diese sollten nach drei Jahren aufgrund der praktischen Erfahrung mit ihnen neu überprüft und angepasst werden. Die Überprüfung der Implementierung und Wirksamkeit der Standards wurde aber nicht durch die Bank selbst, sondern vornehmlich durch die Zivilgesellschaft geleistet. Von Herbst 2019 bis Mai 2021 fanden Konsultationen mit der Zivilgesellschaft statt. Die AIIB-Watch und die hier dokumentierten Fälle flossen in die Überarbeitung der Standards mit ein. Im Mai 2021 wurde die überarbeiteten Standards genehmigt und treten im Oktober 2021 in Kraft (siehe Link unter weiterführende Informationen).

Für die Projektübersicht haben wir Informationen von der AIIB-Homepage verwendet. Bitte klicken Sie auf weitere Informationen, um zu einer Zusammenfassung für jeden Fall zu gelangen, die Ihnen Details und weiterführende Links zu den betroffenen Schutzmaßnahmen bietet. Diese Zusammenfassungen werden von einer Gruppe zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen aus Asien, Europa und Nordamerika zusammengestellt. Sie sollen dazu beitragen, lokalen Gemeinschaften eine Stimme zu geben, die Realitäten vor Ort zu dokumentieren und zu bezeugen, dass Standards auf dem Papier niemals ausreichen können - sie müssen auch implementiert werden.

Die Projekte werden ständig überprüft und die Ergebnisse laufend dokumentiert. Die Recherche der Partnerorganisationen findet oft unter hohen Risiken statt. Die Sicherheitslage ist so brisant, dass wir nicht alle Details zu einzelnen Fällen darstellen können, ohne die Gemeinden zu gefährden. Deshalb veröffentlichen wir diese Dokumente passwortgeschützt. Zugang kann unter aiib-watch@urgewald.org angefordert werden.

Glossar

Dieses Glossar erklärt Begriffe, die im Zusammenhang mit den Operationen der AIIB und anderer internationaler Finanzinstitutionen (IFI) verwendet werden. Die Erklärung erfolgt durch die Brille der Zivilgesellschaft. Wir versuchen, die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten aufzuzeigen, wenn CSOs und AIIB diese Begriffe verwenden. Häufig ist die Interpretation unterschiedlich und in der Regel verwendet die CSO-Sichtweise einen mehr rechtebasierten Ansatz als die Bank. Aber wir versuchen, so objektiv wie möglich zu sein.

Safeguards – Environmental and Social Framework (ESF)

'Safeguards' sind die Regeln, die sich IFIs gegeben haben, um ihre Sorgfaltspflicht bei der Prüfung und Vorbereitung neuer Projekte und bei der Durchführung von Operationen zu steuern. Die Weltbank war die erste IFI, die in den späten 1980er Jahren Safeguards entwickelte. Massive Proteste gegen Megaprojekte in Indonesien, Brasilien und Indien sowie politischer Druck von Seiten der Anteilseignerländer, vor allem der USA, zwangen die Weltbank, eine Reihe von Umwelt- und Sozialrichtlinien zu entwickeln. Alle anderen IFIs folgten mit der Zeit diesem Beispiel. In jüngster Zeit gab es bei fast allen IFIs eine Tendenz, ihre Schutzsysteme unter dem Vorwand der Flexibilität und schlankerer Entscheidungsprozesse zu schwächen. Der neue Begriff "Environmental and Social Framework" wurde eingeführt, was auch bedeutet, dass verbindliche Regeln durch "Standards" ersetzt werden, die einen großen Interpretationsspielraum zulassen. Auch die Aufgabe, Alternativen zu bewerten und über den Projektfortschritt zu berichten, liegt ganz in der Hand des Projektantragstellers (Sponsor). Es stellt sich die Frage, welcher Staat oder welches Unternehmen einem möglichen Geldgeber sagen würde, dass es eine praktikable Alternative gibt oder die Option "kein Projekt" besser wäre.

Unfreiwillige Umsiedlung

"Neben dem Töten eines Menschen ist das Schlimmste, was man tun kann, ihn zu vertreiben." Dieses Zitat von Thayer Scudder, Sozialanthropologe und einer der wenigen führenden Experten zum Thema Umsiedlung, sagt alles über die Bedeutung des Themas. Neben Transparenz, Offenlegung und sinnvoller Konsultation verursacht dieses Thema eine Menge Schaden. Umsiedlung ist immer mit Infrastrukturprojekten verbunden. Und es hängt von der Sorgfalt der Projektträger und -planer ab, ob die betroffenen Menschen zumindest mit Respekt behandelt werden und eine angemessene Entschädigung für den Verlust von Land und Lebensgrundlage erhalten. Die Auswirkungen von Landerwerb und unfreiwilliger Umsiedlung reichen von vollständiger Vertreibung über den teilweisen Verlust von Land und Einkommen bis hin zu wirtschaftlicher Vertreibung durch vor- oder nachgelagerte Effekte von Projekten.

Landerwerb

Jedes Infrastrukturprojekt benötigt Land. Eine Möglichkeit des Landerwerbs besteht darin, die "Enteignung" zu erklären und das benötigte Land mit oder manchmal auch ohne Entschädigung zu beschlagnahmen. Dies bedeutet auch unfreiwillige Umsiedlung für die betroffenen Menschen. Ein anderer Weg ist die verhandelte Übertragung von Land, die von ESFs bevorzugt wird. Aber diese Verhandlungen erfordern vorherige Informationen und eine faire Entschädigung. Oft behaupten IFIs, dass die Projektträger (öffentlich oder privat) eine Vereinbarung mit den Landbesitzer*innen und -nutzer*innen getroffen haben, bevor der IFI die Finanzierung übernimmt. Leider nehmen die IFIs diese Behauptungen meist für bare Münze. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass diese zuvor "ausgehandelten freiwilligen" Akquisitionen oft mit massivem Druck und Einschüchterung einhergehen. In einigen Ländern ist sogar von "Landspenden" die Rede, was viele Fragen aufwirft, da dies meist unter repressiven Regimen geschieht.

Indigene Völker

Es gibt zwei Dokumente des internationalen Rechts, die viele Aspekte bezüglich indigener Völker definieren. Dies sind die Konvention 169 der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO 169) und die UN-Erklärung der Rechte indigener Völker. Grundlegende Prinzipien sind das Selbstbestimmungsrecht als Indigene und das Recht auf freie, vorherige und informierte Zustimmung (FPIC). Bei IFIs spiegeln sich diese internationalen Gesetze, die von vielen Aktionärsländern ratifiziert wurden, nicht in den Schutzbestimmungen wider. Sowohl das Management als auch die Anteilseigner versuchen oft, FPIC als "Konsultation" anstelle von "Zustimmung" umzudefinieren, wie es bei der AIIB der Fall ist. Und manchmal wird das gesamte Konzept der indigenen Völker bestritten und vernachlässigt.

Offenlegung von Informationen

Über Projekte oder Programme informiert zu werden, die Sie, Ihre Lebensgrundlage, Ihre Umwelt betreffen, ist ein grundlegendes Menschenrecht. Ohne umfassende, aber auch allgemein verständliche und kulturell passende Informationen sind potentiell betroffene Gemeinden nicht in der Lage, mit den IFIs und den Trägern von Projekten zu interagieren. Es ist sehr wichtig, relevante Dokumente zu übersetzen und sie für die Allgemeinheit verständlich zu machen. Eine Voraussetzung dafür ist eine Regelung mit klar definierten Fristen, wann und wie Informationen offengelegt werden müssen. Die derzeit beste Praxis ist eine vollständige Offenlegung, wie sie im "Pelosi Amendment" im US-Haushaltsrecht beschrieben ist. Hiernach müssen Informationen 120 Tage vor der Genehmigung durch den Vorstand eines IFI offengelegt werden.

Öffentliche Konsultation, Einbeziehung von Interessenvertretern

Ein grundlegendes und weithin akzeptiertes Prinzip bei der Vorbereitung eines Projekts ist die Konsultation der betroffenen Menschen. Die Safeguards der Weltbank haben einen Präzedenzfall geschaffen. Sie verlangen frühzeitige Konsultationen mit der bestmöglichen Information der betroffenen Gemeinschaften. Der Prozess muss kulturell angemessen sein und die traditionellen Entscheidungsprozesse respektieren, aber auch geschlechtsspezifische Aspekte einbeziehen.  Ein "Stakeholder-Engagement-Plan" ist das Dokument, das beschreibt, wie ein Projektträger oder der IFI selbst die Konsultationen organisiert. Dieser Plan soll auch die Interaktionen in der Umsetzungsphase skizzieren.

Finanzintermediäre

Normalerweise finanzieren IFIs große Projekte und Programme, die in die Millionen gehen. Um kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) zu erreichen, leiten IFIs und insbesondere ihre Abteilungen oder Tochtergesellschaften im Privatsektor die Finanzmittel zunehmend über Finanzintermediäre (FIs) weiter. Diese FIs können Geschäftsbanken, Private Equity Fonds oder Investmentfonds sein. Im Laufe der Zeit wurden immer mehr Teile der IFI-Portfolios der Finanzierung von FIs zugewiesen. Dies geht jedoch mit Problemen bei der Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht einher. Während Betroffene eine faire Chance haben, von einer IFI-Beteiligung an einem Projekt zu erfahren, wenn es direkt finanziert wird, ist dies bei FIs meist so gut wie unmöglich. Die Anforderungen zur Offenlegung von Teilprojekten (d.h. Projekte, die von/über einen FI finanziert werden) sind so gut wie nicht existent. Dies beraubt die von Projekten betroffenen Menschen und Gemeinschaften ihres Rechts, sich beim Rechenschaftsmechanismus des IFI zu beschweren.

Rechenschaftsmechanismus

IFIs als internationale Rechtskörper haben Immunität vor rechtlicher Verfolgung für ihre Handlungen. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten Ländern, in denen die Menschen die Möglichkeit haben, irgendeine Form des Rechtsweges über Gerichte zu beschreiten, ist dies bei IFIs unmöglich. Als dies im Zusammenhang mit der Etablierung von Safeguards immer deutlicher wurde, war die Weltbank die erste IFI, die einen unabhängigen Rechenschaftsmechanismus (AM= accountability mechanism) installierte. Leitprinzipien für einen AM sind Unabhängigkeit vom Management, Unparteilichkeit und, falls erforderlich, Anonymität für Beschwerdeführer*innen. Außerdem dürfen die Mitglieder von AMs in der Regel keine Jobs oder Beratertätigkeiten bei der IFI ausüben, in deren Gremium sie waren. Die Prozesse unterscheiden sich von IFI zu IFI. Bei der AIIB sieht die Zivilgesellschaft den AM nicht als wirklich unabhängig an, da er Teil der Managementaktivitäten ist. Außerdem hat der Prozess, eine Beschwerde einzureichen, so viele Hindernisse, dass es fast unmöglich ist, dies zu tun. Nach einer Beschwerde wird der AM, je nach Leitfaden, entweder eine Schlichtung versuchen oder den Fall untersuchen und einen Bericht vorlegen. Dieser Bericht führt im Idealfall zu Abhilfemaßnahmen durch den IFI und/oder den Projektträger.

Besschwerdemechanismus

Um Probleme in einem Projekt frühzeitig zu behandeln, verlangen IFIs von den Projektträgern die Einrichtung eines Beschwerdemechanismus (grievance redress mechanism, GRM) innerhalb des Projekts. Dieses Büro oder diese Person ist Teil des Projektmanagements und in keiner Weise unabhängig oder unparteiisch. Es hängt von der Reaktionsfähigkeit des Projektträgers ab, ob der GRM wirklich Probleme anspricht oder nur versucht, Beschwerden an den Rechenschaftsmechanismus zu verhindern. Die Qualität von GRMs reicht von speziell zugewiesenen Ansprechpartner*innen bis hin zu einem einfachen Briefkasten außerhalb eines Büros.

Sorgfaltspflicht

Bevor ein Projekt genehmigt wird, verhandelt die IFI nicht nur über die finanziellen Bedingungen. Sie prüft auch die Umwelt- und Sozialauswirkungen der geplanten Operation. Das Ergebnis wird in der Umwelt- und Sozialverträglichkeitsprüfung (ESIA) festgehalten. Dieser gesamte Prozess wird als "Due Diligence" bezeichnet. Er beinhaltet auch die Offenlegung, Konsultationen etc. Menschen und Gemeinden, die von einem Projekt betroffen sind und das Gefühl haben, dass ihre Rechte und Ansichten im Due-Diligence-Prozess nicht angemessen berücksichtigt wurden, können sich an den Rechenschaftsmechanismus des IFI wenden. Dieser untersucht dann, ob die Due-Diligence-Prüfung ordnungsgemäß durchgeführt wurde und berichtet über seine Ergebnisse.

Geschlechtsspezifische Aspekte

Obwohl Frauen die Hälfte der Menschheit ausmachen, gehören sie zu den am meisten gefährdeten Gruppen, die von Infrastruktur- und anderen Entwicklungsprojekten betroffen sind. Diese Auswirkungen reichen z.B. von Einkommensverlusten als Kleinhändlerin bis hin zu sexueller Gewalt oder dem Anstieg von HIV/AIDS. Auswirkungen auf Frauen sind daher ein besonderer Aspekt der Due-Diligence-Prüfung. Und generell sollten Entwicklungsprojekte nicht nur Schaden vermeiden, sondern auch Komponenten zur wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Förderung der weiblichen Lebensgrundlage enthalten.

Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Gemeinschaft

Dieser Aspekt eines IFI ESF deckt viele verschiedene Themen ab. Er befasst sich mit zusätzlichen Gesundheitsthemen wie dem Anstieg von HIV/AIDS aufgrund des Zustroms von Wanderarbeitern bei Infrastrukturprojekten, aber auch mit Problemen mit Staub oder Verkehrstoten entlang einer Straße. Aus Sicht der Zivilgesellschaft ist es wichtig, den Umfang der Due-Diligence-Prüfung nicht auf das Projektgebiet zu beschränken, sondern auch die vor- und nachgelagerten Auswirkungen in einem größeren Gebiet zu betrachten.

Arbeit

Das Arbeitskapitel in einem ESF sollte klare Hinweise zu allen Aspekten geben, die die Belegschaft eines Projekts betreffen. Es sollte nicht nur für die Stammbelegschaft des Projektträgers gelten, sondern auch für die Mitarbeiter*innen von Sub- und Unterauftragnehmer*innen. Auch sollte es keinen Ausschluss von Leiharbeiter*innen von der Anwendung des Arbeitsschutzes geben. Und alle Arbeitsvorschriften in den Projekten sollten mit den Kernarbeitsnormen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO), einem UN-Gremium, übereinstimmen. Leider bleibt der AIIB-Arbeitsstandard weit dahinter zurück, da zum Beispiel das Recht auf Kollektivverhandlungen (und die Bildung unabhängiger Gewerkschaften) nicht anerkannt wird.

Biodiversität

Seit dem Gipfeltreffen in Rio 1992 ist die biologische Vielfalt zu einem der Hauptaspekte der Sorgfaltspflicht bei IFI-Projekten geworden. Da Entwicklungsprojekte von IFIs und vor allem Infrastrukturprojekte gravierende ökologische Auswirkungen haben, ist dies zu einem der "Schlachtfelder" zwischen Zivilgesellschaft, IFIs und Projektträgern geworden. In den letzten Jahren haben die IFIs ihre Standards aufgeweicht (siehe Safeguards). Bei der Weltbank wurde die klare Bestimmung, dass Primärwälder und kritische Lebensräume mit gefährdeten Arten tabu sind, durch eine Regelung ersetzt, die Projekte in diesen Gebieten erlaubt, wenn es keine wirtschaftlich sinnvolle Alternative gibt und der Träger einen "Ausgleich" bieten kann. Offsetting ist aber unter Praktiker*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen höchst umstritten. Wer würde es zum Beispiel wagen zu behaupten, dass Berggorillas in Ostafrika einfach in ein ganz anderes Gebiet umgesiedelt werden können, um Platz für Ölbohrungen oder Bergbau zu schaffen?

 

Hintergrund

"Lean, clean and green" - so werden von der AIIB die Richtlinien für Umwelt- und Sozialstandards genannt (Environmental and Social Framework, ESF). Indem sie ehemalige Mitarbeiter*innen der Weltbank in die Entwicklung des ESF einbezog, wollte die AIIB beweisen, dass ihre Regeln einem Vergleich mit internationalen Standards standhalten.

Die Bank vergibt Kredite für (große) Infrastrukturprojekte, hauptsächlich in Asien. Bislang wurden 10 Mrd. USD in 18 Ländern investiert. Der Fokus der Bank liegt auf der weltweiten Entwicklung, mit der Mission "soziale und wirtschaftliche Ergebnisse in Asien zu verbessern". Mit den Worten des AIIB-Präsidenten Jin Liqun auf der Jahresversammlung 2020:

"Wir streben danach, eine Welt aufzubauen, die finanziell, sozial, ökologisch und wirtschaftlich nachhaltig ist."

Gemeinsam mit einem internationalen Bündnis regionaler und internationaler NGOs beobachtet urgewald die von China dominierte Bank und untersucht erklärte Standards und deren Nachhaltigkeit. Mittlerweile gibt es 18 Fallstudien, die Projekte in den Bereichen Transport, Energie (Wasser/Gas/Transportleitungen), städtische Infrastruktur und Finanzintermediäre umfassen. Darüber hinaus werden die Richtlinien und Sektorstrategien überwacht.

Wir möchten uns bei allen Mitwirkenden für diese Zusammenfassung bedanken und sind allen Gemeinden für ihr Engagement unendlich dankbar.

CSO Logos

 

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China Desk / Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

    Bild Anprechpartner   Knud Vöcking

    Knud Vöcking
    Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen
    knud [at] urgewald.org
    +49 (0)2583/30492-14

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dustin Schäfer

    Dustin Schäfer
    Kampagnen zu nationalen und multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen, Schwerpunkt Rechenschaftspflicht und Transparenz
    dustin [at] urgewald.org

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Joachim Jachnow

    Dr. Joachim Jachnow
    Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen, Schwerpunkt Zwangsumsiedlungen
    joachim [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

Weitere Themen