New Silk Road
China

China’s new development model

Not only are the US and the EU expanding their global influence, the People’s Republic of China has created its own masterplan with the initiative “New Silk Road”. The vision: increasing prosperity with unlimited trade and new infrastructures – a win-win situation for all countries involved, states the Chinese government. China is already one of the largest donors for countries of the Global South. Can the super power offer an alternative to the present, extremely unfair and climate-damaging practice of the dominant powers?

 

Unfair practices

Is the criticism of China justified?

New China newsletter (German)

Stay up to date on China's mega-project "Belt and Road Initiative" or large port, coal and hydropower projects with Chinese participation - all with potentially serious consequences for the environment and human rights. Four times a year, our China expert Dr. Nora Sausmikat puts together an exclusive selection of current developments for you by email.

(All issues available here)

China’s development aid and investment loans do not focus consistently on either climate protection or human rights.

Dr. Nora Sausmikat, Urgewald e.V.

China as lender in the Global South

At the moment, the People’s Republic of China is the most important lender for numerous countries in Africa and Asia. In some cases, loans for huge infrastructure projects within the “Belt and Road” initiative threaten debtor nations’ sovereignty. How sustainable are Chinas credits? How necessary are regional or national China strategies for borrowing countries? Our short documentation provides insights into regional perspectives and key characteristics of Chinese lending criteria.

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China desk/Campaigns on Multilateral Development Banks
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

Weitere Themen

Neue Seidenstraße
China

Chinas neues Entwicklungsmodell

Nicht nur die USA und die EU bauen ihren globalen Einfluss immer weiter aus. Die Volksrepublik China hat mit der Initiative „Neue Seidenstraße“ einen eigenen Masterplan entworfen. Die Vision: Wachsender Wohlstand durch grenzenlosen Handel und neue Infrastrukturen - eine Win-Win-Situation für alle beteiligten Staaten, so verkauft es die chinesische Regierung. Schon jetzt ist China einer der größten Kreditgeber für Länder im Globalen Süden. Kann die neue Supermacht eine Alternative bilden zur bisherigen, extrem unfairen und klimaschädlichen, Praxis der dominierenden Mächte?

 

Neuer Newsletter zu China als Infrastruktur-Finanzierer

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden zu Chinas Megaprojekt "Neue Seidenstraße" oder großen Hafen-, Kohle- und Wasserkraftprojekten mit chinesischer Beteiligung - allesamt mit potenziell schweren Folgen für Umwelt und Menschenrechte. Unsere China-Expertin Dr. Nora Sausmikat stellt ca. vier Mal im Jahr per E-Mail eine exklusive Auswahl aktueller Entwicklungen für Sie zusammen.

(Bisherige Ausgaben hier zum Nachlesen)

Chinas Entwicklungshilfe und Investitionskredite sind weder konsequent am Klimaschutz noch an den Menschenrechten ausgerichtet.

Dr. Nora Sausmikat, urgewald e.V.

China als Kreditgeber im Globalen Süden

Die Volksrepublik China ist derzeit der wichtigste Kreditgeber für zahlreiche Länder in Afrika und Asien. Darlehen für große Infrastrukturprojekte als Teil der „Belt and Road“-Initiative bedrohen in einigen Fällen die Souveränität der Schuldnerstaaten. Wie nachhaltig sind Chinas Kredite? Wie notwendig sind regionale oder nationale China-Strategien für Nehmer-Länder? Unsere Kurzdoku gibt Einblicke in regionale Perspektiven und Kerncharakteristika von chinesischen Kreditvergabekriterien.

AIIB-Zentrale, Peking

China und die Finanzwirtschaft

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China Desk / Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

Weitere Themen