China and the financial sector

AIIB-Zentrale, Peking
Foto: AIIB

In January 2016, the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) became operational in Peking. For the first time, China heads a multilateral bank, in which Western countries such as Germany are also involved. These give the Peking-dominated AIIB international credibility, and also in capital markets. The AIIB stands for China’s growing influence on the global financing of large infrastructure projects. It creates new competition for established finance institutions, especially for the World Bank, dominated by the US.

In the course of the AIIB founding, environmental and human rights groups warned that funded projects’ protection standards could turn out to be too weak. Formulating these environmental and social standards therefore needs to be independently and systematically monitored by civil society. Non-sustainable environmental and socially irresponsible projects must be traced and strategies found for a socially balanced and environmentally sustainable development.

We should also keep Western industrial societies’ responsibility in mind. In January 2019, Germany decided on a closer financial cooperation with China, which included investments within the New Silk Road Initiative and large infrastructure measures. Aim is a better coordination of German and European initiatives with those of China. In this context, Germany promotes China’s admittance as a new state lender to the Paris Club. Civil society must however, also critically accompany these development financings.

Environmental and social standards of the AIIB: room for improvement

Menschenkette um den Globus

In May 2021, the AIIB approved its revised environmental and social standards. The result: good, but not good enough. Our comment:

Most important facts about the AIIB bank

AIIB building
Photo: AIIB
  • Commencement of business: January 2016
  • Biggest shareholders:

  1. China
  2. India
  3. Russia
  4. Germany
  • Startup capital: 100 billion US $
  • Germany participation: 4,2 % share of votes, almost 4,5 billion US $
  • Projects primarily in Southern and Central Asia, Caucasus, European outlying areas
  • Sectors where the AIIB currently invests:
  1. Energy (3,8 billion US $)
  2. Transport sector (3,4 billion $)
  3. Water and irrigation (1,8 billion $)
  4. Infrastructure (1,2 billion $)
  5. Telecommunications (240 million $)
  6. Cross-sectoral (150 million $)
  7. Sanitation (115 million $)

(Source: Coalition for Human Rights in Development, June 2018)

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China desk/Campaigns on Multilateral Development Banks
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

China und die Finanzwirtschaft

AIIB-Zentrale, Peking
Foto: AIIB

Im Januar 2016 hat die Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) in Peking ihren Betrieb aufgenommen. Erstmals steht China an der Spitze einer multilateralen Bank, an der auch westliche Staaten wie Deutschland beteiligt sind. Diese verleihen der von Peking dominierten AIIB internationale Glaubwürdigkeit auch auf den Kapitalmärkten. Die AIIB steht für den wachsenden Einfluss Chinas auf die globale Finanzierung großer Infrastrukturprojekte. Sie erzeugt neue Konkurrenz für etablierte Finanzinstitutionen, vor allem für die von den USA dominierte Weltbank.

Im Zuge der AIIB-Gründung warnten Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsgruppen weltweit davor, dass Schutzstandards bei finanzierten Projekten deutlich zu schwach ausfallen könnten. Es braucht daher eine unabhängige und systematische Begleitung durch die Zivilgesellschaft bei der Formulierung dieser Umwelt- und Sozialstandards. Es gilt, ökologisch und sozial nicht nachhaltige Projekte aufzuspüren und Strategien zu finden für eine sozial ausgewogene und ökologisch nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Auch die Verantwortung der westlichen Industriegesellschaften dürfen wir dabei nicht vergessen. Im Januar 2019 hat Deutschland mit China eine engere Finanzkooperation beschlossen, bei der es auch um Investitionen im Rahmen der Seidenstraßeninitiative und großer Infrastrukturmaßnahmen geht. Eine bessere Abstimmung der deutschen und europäischen Vorhaben mit den chinesischen ist das Ziel. In diesem Zusammenhang wirbt Deutschland dafür, China als neuen staatlichen Kreditgeber in den Pariser Club aufzunehmen. Auch hier muss die Zivilgesellschaft Entwicklungsfinanzierungen kritisch begleiten.

Chinaflagge und Logo der AIIB

Taking Stock: die AIIB ein Jahr nach ihrer Gründung

Wichtigste Fakten zur Bank AIIB

AIIB Gebäude
Foto: AIIB

•    Beginn der Geschäfte: Januar 2016

•    Größte Anteilseigner:

  1. China
  2. Indien
  3. Russland
  4. Deutschland

•    Startkapital: 100 Milliarden US-Dollar

•    Beteiligung Deutschlands: 4,2 % Stimmanteil,  fast 4,5 Mrd. US-Dollar

•    Projekte v.a. in: Süd- und Zentralasien, Kaukasus, Randgebiete Europas

•    Sektoren, in die die AIIB derzeit investiert:

  1. Energie (3,8 Mrd. US-$)
  2. Transportwesen (3,4 Mrd. $)
  3. Wasser & Bewässerung (1,8 Mrd. $)
  4. Infrastruktur (1,2 Mrd. $)
  5. Telekommunikation (240 Mio. $)
  6. Sektor-übergreifend (150 Mio. $)
  7. Sanitäre Einrichtungen (115 Mio. $)

(Quelle: Coalition for Human Rights in Development, Stand: Juni 2018)

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China Desk / Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team